Fiction

Book Review – The Weight of This World by David Joy

weight-of-the-world

Goodreads Synopsis:

A combat veteran returned from war, Thad Broom can’t leave the hardened world of Afghanistan behind, nor can he forgive himself for what he saw there. His mother, April, is haunted by her own demons, a secret trauma she has carried for years. Between them is Aiden McCall, loyal to both but unable to hold them together. Connected by bonds of circumstance and duty, friendship and love, these three lives are blown apart when Aiden and Thad witness the accidental death of their drug dealer and a riot of dope and cash drops in their laps. On a meth-fueled journey to nowhere, they will either find the grit to overcome the darkness or be consumed by it.

My Opinion:

The name of this book, “The Weight of This World”, couldn’t be more appropriate. Thanks to Joy’s writing, I could feel the weight of the world that childhood friends Thad and Aiden, and Thad’s mother April, were carrying around with them. The character development was fantastic, and I found myself hoping they would be able to turn their lives around. All of the characters, in their own way,  hit their “so called” breaking point and have a choice, do I continue on my self-destructive path, or is it time to make a change?

Make no mistake, this is a dark story with drugs, alcohol, sex and murder. I was uncomfortable at times and pondered quitting the book, but decided to continue on in hope of a more uplifting ending. This is not the kind of book I usually gravitate towards, but I believe in reading outside the box at times and am glad I did.

Thank you to First to Read for the opportunity to read this eBook for an honest review.

My Rating: 3.5/5

Series: None

Publication Date: 3/7/2017

Pages: 265 (eBook)

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Weight of This World by David Joy

Leave a Reply

