Mystery/Thriller

Book Review – Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens

Goodreads Synopsis:

Eleven years ago, Lindsey Nash escaped into the night with her young daughter and left an abusive relationship. Her ex-husband was sent to jail and she started over with a new life. Now, Lindsey is older and wiser, with a teenage daughter who needs her more than ever. When her ex-husband is finally released, Lindsey believes she’s cut all ties. But she gets the sense that someone is watching her. Her new boyfriend is threatened. Her home is invaded, and her daughter is shadowed. Lindsey is convinced it’s her ex-husband, even though he claims he’s a different person. But can he really change? Is the one who wants her dead closer to home than she thought?

My Opinion:

This was a fun mystery/thriller that left me thinking that I need to read more books by Chevy Stevens. Never Let You Go is a story of a woman who is being physically and mentally abused by her husband, the man she married and promised to love forever.

In the first chapter, Andrew, Lindsey, and their seven year old daughter Sophie are on vacation in Mexico. Andrew gets extremely jealous when Lindsey’s finger accidently brushed up against a waiter’s fingers while taking a drink from him. Andrew uses Sophie to scare Lindsey by making her think that Sophie has gone missing in the ocean. Lindsey decides at that moment that she wants to leave him when they get home.

The chapters alternate between present day POV of Lindsey and her teenage daughter Sophie. There are also numerous flashback chapters that tell us the story of Andrew, Lindsey, and Sophie. I thought this was a great way to build the mystery and kept me thinking throughout.

This was my first Chevy Stevens book and most certainly won’t be my last. This was a fun, fast read that kept the mystery alive for the entire book. I made assumptions when I first started this book and I assumed that I knew how the story was going to go, but then I got to thinking “Hmmm … who is not being let go and who is holding onto them?”

My favorite quote is from Sophie: “It’s like the butterfly effect. You change one thing, it all changes. What would you do differently?”

My Rating: 4/5

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Series: None

Publisher: St Martin’s Press

Publication Date: 3/14/2017

Pages: 384

Do you have a favorite Chevy Stevens book? I’d love to read more of her books and would welcome your suggestions.

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

 

One thought on “Book Review – Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens

Leave a Reply

