Monthly Wrap-Up

March Monthly Wrap-Up

It’s official – I have completed my first full month of blogging and I am having a great time! I started in mid February and got my feet wet, now I’m all in. I can’t tell you how happy I am that I decided to start blogging.

I decided to try my hand at requesting some books on NetGalley. I am very excited to share with you that I was approved for two: The Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown and One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline.

This past month I also started a Facebook page where I will post anything book related that sounds interesting and will link my blog posts.

What I Read

My favorite book this month was…

 

We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter is my favorite book this month. This is an excellent historical fiction book about the Kurc family and their amazing story of survival during the holocaust. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

My Rating 5/5

For my full review please click on this link.

 

I also really enjoyed…

 

Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens is a great mystery/thriller that had me wondering who is not being let go and who is holding on to them.

My Rating 4/5

For my full review please click on this link.

 

 

 

The Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenoff is a story of unbreakable friendship during a time of so much hate in the world.

My rating 4/5

For my full review please click on this link.

 

 

 

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough is my first psychological thriller that kept me wondering who to believe throughout the book and had a most unusual ending.

My Rating 4/5

For my full review please click on this link.

 

 

Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach

My Rating 4/5

For my full review please click on this link.

 

 

 

 

The Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown is a historical fiction book based on the real life of Matthew Hopkins, told through his sister’s perspective. It tells of a harrowing time in history of witch hunting, with a bit of mystery surrounding Matthew’s childhood.

My Rating 4/5

For my full review please click on this link.

 

  Other books I read…

 

The Child by Fiona Barton is a mystery/thriller. It is a quick and easy read that I liked but won’t be one of my all time favorites.

My rating: 3.5/5

For my full review please click on the link.

 

 

 

Hopscotch by Steve Cushman a quick, feel good read about hope.

My rating: 3.5/5

For my full review please click on the link.

 

 

 

My New Arrivals

March – Book of the Month Club (BOTM)…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach – this was my BOTM pick. I thought it sounded like a fun mystery/thriller and being centered around twins sounded interesting.

Marlena by Julie Buntin – This was an extra pick for me, I just couldn’t decide so I got both.

Purchases I made…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Breakdown and Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris – These were both purchased at Book Depository, which I only recently discovered. What a terrific company – free shipping worldwide! These two books have gotten a lot of buzz so I decided to get them both, I’m really hoping to read them soon.

First to Read books I acquired…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All the Best People by Sonja Yoerg – I used some of my First to Read points to guarantee a copy of this book to read and review. It’s historical fiction and sounds like it could pull at your heartstrings.

You Were Here by Gian Sardar – I entered to win a few of the many books offered in March and was one of the chosen lucky ones to read this book.

What was your favorite book this month?

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.

Leave a Reply

