Classic · Dystopia

Book Review – The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Goodreads Synopsis:

Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now.

My Opinion:

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood is my first exposure to this world renowned author. This book has been on my TBR list for more weeks than I can remember. I recently found out that Hulu is doing a mini-series on it starting April 26,2017 and that was just the push I needed to pick it up.

Needless to say I was very excited to see what this author has to offer and couldn’t wait to get started. The book started out really strong for me and I was really enjoying it. There were times when Atwood’s words were poetic and quite beautiful.

The tulips along the border are redder than ever, opening, no longer wine cups but chalices; thrusting themselves up, to what end? They are, after all, empty. When they are old they turn themselves inside out, then explode slowly, the petals thrown out like shards.

As I got deeper into the story, I found myself not enjoying it nearly as much as I had in the beginning and I started asking myself why. I think my biggest problem with this book was that I found it depressing and as the story progressed, the focus of it became mostly sexual. I feel that there was a much bigger message that Atwood was trying to get across in this book but for me that message was lost due to these reasons.

Upon finishing it I decided I wasn’t going to write a review for it, but after a night’s sleep I changed my mind. There is a lot of good to be said about this book. Atwood is a very talented writer, and I can see why a lot of people really like this book. Although I didn’t really enjoy this book, I do think that it will make a very good mini-series. I think that the story being played out on screen will have a much better impact than the written word. I have a couple more of her books that I would like to read and won’t hesitate do so, in hopes that I enjoy them more.

My Rating: 2.5/5

Genre: Classic/Dystopia

Series: None

Publisher: Anchor Books

Publication Date: 1985

Pages: 311 (eBook)

Do you have a favorite Margaret Atwood book?

Feel free to follow me on Twitter, Goodreads, and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

17 thoughts on “Book Review – The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

  1. Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I adore your blog and love this post! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Aww you are so welcome! You have a wonderful blog. Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you!

        Like

  2. I didn’t like The Handmaid’s Tale either. I found it to be a really frustrating read – Atwood just kept too much information from the reader and it made it difficult for me to connect with the story. And I agree, the important message for me got lost in the way she decided to tell the story. Great review!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you…it seems to be one of those books that you either really connect with it or you don’t. I really wanted to but it just wasn’t for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I haaaaaaated this book so very much, though granted I was 15 when I read it as part of a high school English class. We read two Atwood books in school (Atwood is Canadian, which I think is why we read two of her novels in school) – Handmaid’s Tale and Alias Grace, and I hated them both. I could’ve been that it just wasn’t the right time for me to read them, or the right setting, but my feelings were so negative that I’ve never picked up any other Atwood titles!!

    Like

    1. It seems that this is one of those books, you either love it or hate it and not much in between.
      Looks like I might be in trouble, I was going to give Atwood one more shot and guess what that book is…Alias Grace! I’m still going to try it, but if I’m not liking it I won’t push through this time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

