Monthly Wrap-Up

April Monthly Wrap-Up

I love the month of April, winter is ushered out and spring is welcomed with open arms. I had two fantastic weekend getaways, one with my hubby at the coast and the other over Easter to visit our son.

I decided to add a new feature to my monthly wrap-up. It’s called Book-to-Screen. In the past few years I’ve taken a liking to watching movies that were adapted from books. Every month I will do a quick summary of my thoughts about the movies or TV series that I saw during the month that have been derived from a book. Look for this new feature at the bottom of this page.

What I Read

My favorite books this month…


The Night the Lights Went Out by Karen White – is a fantastic book with a little bit of everything: romance, humor, friendship, and mystery. This is my favorite book so far this year! (my full review)
My Rating: 5/5


All the Best People by Sonja Yoerg – is story of family and mental illness. She has put together a terrific story, while bringing mental illness to the forefront. (my full review)
My Rating: 5/5

I also really enjoyed…


The Stars Are Fire by Anita Shreve – Anita Shreve wrote a story of courage, while incorporating Maine’s 1947 great fire as her backdrop. (my full review)
My Rating – 3.5/5

Other books I read…


One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline – is a mystery/thriller that centers around three high school students, their families, and Chris. Chris is not who he appears to be and has befriended these three high school students and plans on using one of them – for what, we do not know. (my full review)
My Rating: 3/5


The Fix by David Baldacci – is the third installment of the Amos Decker series. I love David Baldacci’s books. They are quick to read and take you on quite a journey and this one is no exception. (my full review)
My Rating: 3.5/5

I read but didn’t really care for…


The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – I was really looking forward to reading this classic. It started off promising but I’m afraid as I got deeper into the story it just wasn’t for me. (my full review)
My Rating: 2.5/5

My New Arrivals

NetGalley…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Girl in Disguise by Greer Macallister – is a historical mystery, two of my favorite genres, so I’m really looking forward to this book.

Bring Her Home by David Bell – this sounds like a fun thriller that I’m extremely happy to be approved for and can’t wait to read.

Purchases I made…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land – looks like a really good psychological thriller, I just couldn’t resist picking it up. (Book Depository)

Everything but the Truth by Gillian McAllister – is a mystery/thriller that I also couldn’t resist picking up. (Book Depository)

Travels with Charley: In Search of America by John Steinbeck – Earlier this month I picked up this book up while visiting the Steinbeck Center in Salinas, CA. I found the museum incredibly inspiring, this book in particular sounded really interesting and different. I thought it would make the perfect parting gift to myself!

Used book store finds…


 

 

 

 

 

 

The Time Between by Karen White – So I’m out of town and of course I have to check out the local used book store and this is the very first book I laid my eyes on. It just so happens that I had just started reading The Night the Lights Went Out by Karen White and fell instantly in love with it. That’s right, the very same Karen White who wrote this book. So of course I had to pick it up!

Murder on Astor Place by Victoria Thompson – I had read some good reviews about this series and was lucky enough to find several of them just sitting there waiting for me to come by and purchase them. How could I refuse them!

From Book-to-Screen

 

The Zookeeper’s Wife – is a true story based on Diane Ackerman’s book, under the same title. Antonina and Jan Zabinski are the owner’s of the Warsaw Zoo. During WWII they went to great lengths to help save hundreds of people and animals despite the German invasion. I didn’t read the book but really enjoyed the movie. I highly recommend it!
I give it 8/10

 

 


The Circle by Dave Eggers – Mae lands a dream job at a powerful tech company called the Circle, only to uncover a nefarious agenda that will affect the lives of her friends, family, and that of humanity. I did not read this book, but recently saw the previews for this movie. I’m a big Tom Hanks fan and the previews looked really good, so I was looking forward to seeing it. Sadly the movie fell short for me. It had good bones and the premise was good, with a big-brother/eye-in-the-sky feeling, but it just failed to deliver as I expected it to.
I give it 5/10

 

 


Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
– I read this book about a year and a half ago and really liked it. The adaptation aired this month on HBO and is seven episodes long. I have all the episodes recorded, but have only had a chance to watch the first two. So far I have been enjoying it and plan on finishing it very soon. Look for my full review in the May Wrap-Up.

 

 


The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
– I read this one just a couple of weeks ago in preparation for the adaptation to be aired on Hulu. The first 3 episodes aired on April 26th, and there are 10 episodes altogether. I’m waiting for more episodes to air on Hulu then I’ll do a little binge watching in May. Look for my full review in my May Wrap-Up.

 

What was your favorite book this month? Did you watch any of these movies? Or any other book-to-screen adaptations?

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “April Monthly Wrap-Up

  1. I haven’t read The Handmaid’s Tale either, mostly because like you I don’t think it would be for me… Although I should probably at least try at some point. And All The Best People sounds like such an intriguing read! I hope you will enjoy your books this month and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It certainly can’t hurt to try, it gets mixed reviews, so you never know you may love it. All the Best People is a very good book. Let me know if you decide to read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.
      Happy Reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

