Book-to-Screen

Book-to-Screen (May-2017)

Welcome to Book-to-Screen!

I’m very excited to kick off my Book-to-Screen monthly post. At the end of each month I will do a summary of the movies and/or TV shows that I watched that have been adapted from a book.

I will also include a “Looking Ahead” section if you would like to read the book before the movie or TV show is released. I will post what is coming out in the next 3 months. If you know of any other adaptations coming within that time period please let me know and I’ll add them to the list.

What I watched…


Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

This TV series is seven episodes long and aired on HBO. I read this book a couple of years ago and loved it. Needless to say I was very excited to see it come to life!

The story follows the lives of Madeline, Celeste, and Jane. I thought the characters were thoroughly developed and the stress and tension of the lives of these three women came through loud and clear. One big difference that I noticed between the book and series was that Jane and Tom had a budding romance in the book and in the series it was nearly non-existent. Although I think including this romance would have been fun, I don’t think it was necessary. I just found myself waiting for it and it not really occurring.

I highly recommend it! It’s captivating, intense, and keeps you on the edge of your seat.


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

This book has been adapted to a movie on HBO. It originally aired in April.

Wow…I loved this movie! I think it was a great adaptation of the book. It’s been 3 years since I read the book, so my memory is a bit fuzzy, but from what I remember they did a nice job bringing the story to life.

Henrietta Lacks was a poor Southern tobacco farmer, who had cervical cancer cells removed from her without her knowledge. These cells live on even today and are at the forefront of numerous medical discoveries.

Oprah Winfrey did an outstanding job portraying Deborah Lacks, Henrietta’s daughter. One of my favorite moments in the movie was when she was finally allowed into a lab to see her mother’s cells. At one point they were put under a microscope, the lights were turned off, and they were illuminated onto the walls where Deborah and her brother stood. They had their mom’s cells all over them; I found it to be a very powerful moment.

The book does a more thorough job of telling Henrietta’s background story and goes much deeper into the science of her cells, but I enjoyed the movie nonetheless.

I highly recommend this movie!!


Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Madeline is seventeen and has a rare disease that causes her to have to stay indoors. Her life depends on it! She’s never been outside, has no friends, and has never been in love. That is until the new neighbors move in and she meets Olly.

My daughter and I thought this was a cute chick-flick. Neither one of us read the book, so we cannot tell you how it compares, but we thought the movie was sweet and a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Coming soon…

June –


My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier

Theater Release Date – June 9th

Goodreads Synopsis

Philip Ashley’s older cousin Ambrose, who raised the orphaned Philip as his own son, has died in Rome. Philip, the heir to Ambrose’s beautiful English estate, is crushed that the man he loved died far from home. He is also suspicious. While in Italy, Ambrose fell in love with Rachel, a beautiful English and Italian woman. But the final, brief letters Ambrose wrote hint that his love had turned to paranoia and fear.

Now Rachel has arrived at Philip’s newly inherited estate. Could this exquisite woman, who seems to genuinely share Philip’s grief at Ambrose’s death, really be as cruel as Philip imagined? Or is she the kind, passionate woman with whom Ambrose fell in love? Philip struggles to answer this question, knowing Ambrose’s estate, and his own future, will be destroyed if his answer is wrong.

August


Dark Tower series by Stephen King

Theater Release Date – August 4th

IMBD Synopsis

The Gunslinger, Roland Deschain, roams an Old West-like landscape where “the world has moved on” in pursuit of the man in black. Also searching for the fabled Dark Tower, in the hopes that reaching it will preserve his dying world.

 


The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Theater Release Date – August 11th
This is a truly remarkable story! I highly recommend that everyone read this memoir whether you see the movie or not. It is an amazing story of triumph, against all odds.

Goodreads Synopsis
The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family.

The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.


Tulip Fever by Deborah Moggach

Theater Release Date – August 25th

Goodreads Synopsis
A tale of art, beauty, lust, greed, deception and retribution — set in a refined society ablaze with tulip fever.

In 1630s Amsterdam, tulipomania has seized the populace. Everywhere men are seduced by the fantastic exotic flower. But for wealthy merchant Cornelis Sandvoort, it is his young and beautiful wife, Sophia, who stirs his soul. She is the prize he desires, the woman he hopes will bring him the joy that not even his considerable fortune can buy.

Cornelis yearns for an heir, but so far he and Sophia have failed to produce one. In a bid for immortality, he commissions a portrait of them both by the talented young painter Jan van Loos. But as Van Loos begins to capture Sophia’s likeness on canvas, a slow passion begins to burn between the beautiful young wife and the talented artist.

As the portrait unfolds, so a slow dance is begun among the household’s inhabitants. Ambitions, desires, and dreams breed a grand deception–and as the lies multiply, events move toward a thrilling and tragic climax.

In this richly imagined international bestseller, Deborah Moggach has created the rarest of novels–a lush, lyrical work of fiction that is also compulsively readable. Seldom has a novel so vividly evoked a time, a place, and a passion.

Will you be seeing any of these movies or TV adaptations?
If you hear of any adaptations coming out in the next few of months that I have not listed, please let me know.

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “Book-to-Screen (May-2017)

  1. Wow…Tulip Fever sounds especially good! I also liked The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. That book was so interesting, and I’m betting that the movie is good as well. I never did complete The Gunslinger series, but I am drawn to the movie. I’m anxious to start watching American Gods. I just need to get a Starz subscription.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I think it was like in the show, wasn’t it? She thought he was gay and they knew by the end…or maybe I remember it wrong. The only thing I didnt like about the tv show was Maddie’s fling…ugh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maddie fling…that’s true and probably put in there to ramp up the tension in her life, put her under more stress.
      Well I could be wrong, it has been awhile. He was assumed gay in the book too, but I thought he expressed interested in her a lot sooner than the series. Either way I thought it worked.

      Like

Leave a Reply

