Bookish Odds and Ends

Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag…

What?!? The year is already half over, how is that possible? Thank you Stephanie@Stephanie’s Novel Fiction for tagging me. Be sure to check out her Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag too.

I have read so many great books this year and have high hopes it will continue into the second half of the year. This was a lot fun to take a look back at where I’ve been, while I’m looking ahead to the next six months. So, without further ado, here’s my book tag.

1) The best book you’ve read so far this year?

The Night the Lights Went Out by Karen White – Hands down this is my favorite book so far this year. I loved the characters, story, and the setting. It is has romance, humor, friendship, and mystery. I could go on and on, bottom line is…don’t hesitate, read it! (my full review)

2) Your favorite sequel this year?

The Killing Hour by Lisa Gardner (Quincy & Rainie #4) – I love book series, but this year I haven’t read too many. I have a personal goal to turn that around the second half of this year. I read this book while making my way though the backlist getting ready for Lisa Gardner’s new release earlier this year. (no review- read it before starting my blog)

3) A new release that you haven’t read yet but really want to?

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate – I have seen some fabulous reviews for this book! I love historical fiction stories based on actual events, so I’m very excited to read this book.

4)  Most anticipated release for the second half of the year?

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter – I cannot tell you how excited I am to read my first Karin Slaughter book! I have many blogging friends that love her and am ready to become a fan too.

5) Your biggest disappointment?

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – This is one of those books that you either love or hate. Hate is a strong word, let’s just say this book wasn’t for me. I read it in preparation of the Hulu mini series. My hope is to make some time next month to watch the mini series. I have high hopes that I will enjoy it more than the book. (my full review)

6) Biggest surprise of the year?

This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel – I knew I wanted to read this book, but I had no idea just much I was going to enjoy it. I highly recommend it!

7) Favorite new to you or debut author?

The Marsh King’s Daughter by Karen Dionne – Karen Dionne is a new author to me. I just loved this book! This book was written so well I felt like I was reading a story based on actual events. Psychologically speaking I found it absolutely fascinating. (my full review)

8) Your new fiction crush?

I’m afraid I have no fictional crushes, only a real one on my hubby 🙂

9) New favorite character?

The Night the Lights Went Out by Karen White – I just have to use this book twice. Sugar is by far my favorite character! Everybody needs a little Sugar in their life. (my full review)

10) A book that made you cry?

Before the Rain Falls by Camille Di Maio – I found this historical fiction book to be an emotional read at times and I had a slight tear in my eye towards the end of it. (my full review)

11) A book that made you happy?

I don’t have a stand out book that made me happy. I would have to say that just about all the books I read made me happy. I have had very few disappointments!

12) Your favorite book to movie adaptation that you’ve seen this year?

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly – I didn’t read this book, but loved the movie!

13) Favorite book post you’ve published this year?

This might be an odd answer, but I really enjoyed my “Calling all Orenda Books fans – I need your help!” post. I loved the energy it created while my fellow book lovers cast their votes for which book I should read. The one with the most votes was The Mountain in My Shoe, which is on deck to read next.

14) The most beautiful book you have bought/received this year?

The Time Between by Karen White – As a new member of the Karen White fan club, when I saw this pretty book in a used book store recently I had to have it. I haven’t read it yet, but hope to soon!

15) What are some books that you need to read by the end of the year?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

The Lost Letter by Jillian Cantor

Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

Sleeping Beauties by Stephen King and Owen King

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye by David Lagercrantz

Now it’s time to tag a few of my fellow bloggers. If you have done this tag, forgive me for tagging you again. If you’d rather not do it, no worries, participation is optional.

Dee@Novel Deelights

Jo@Jo’s Book Blog

Inge@The Belgian Reviewer

Janel@Keeper of Pages

Jonna@Over the Rainbow Book Blog

If you have done this tag please let me know in the comments, I’d love to see you answers!
Have you or do you plan on reading any of these books?

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.
Happy Reading!

14 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

  1. He said She said is actually on my TBR, too! I’m glad that we have the same book on our TBR. And I didn’t enjoy The Handmaid’s Tale much,either. As I went into the book with high expectations, I felt a bit disappointed. I didn’t hate it, but it didn’t wow me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved reading your answers! I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of The Marsh King’s Daughter, The Good Daughter, The Lost Letter and Dead Woman Walking myself. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

