Book-to-Screen

Book-to-Screen (June 2017)

Welcome to Book-to-Screen!

At the end of each month I do a summary of the movies and/or TV shows that I watched that have been adapted from a book.

I also include a “Looking Ahead” section if you would like to read the book before the movie or TV show is released. I post what is coming out in the next 3 months. If you know of any other adaptations coming within that time period please let me know and I’ll add them to the list.

What I watched…

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier

I read this book, but didn’t write up an official blog post review for it. I thought it was a good book and had the potential to be an enjoyable movie.
Movie thoughts – I don’t think the movie did the relationship between Philip and Ambrose justice. As a very young child, Ambrose took Philip in and raised him the best way he knew how. Until Philip was an adult it was just the two of them, single, with no kids, until Ambrose met Rachel. They were very close and I don’t feel the movie got that across. The movie also left out the love of gardens Ambrose and Rachel shared. This elimination was fine and I don’t feel like it hurt the storyline in any way. I saw the movie the weekend of its release. I thought it did a pretty good job of bringing the story to life.
Book Rating: 3/5
Movie Rating: 6/10

TV series currently playing…


The Mist by Stephen King

The Mist was originally a movie that was released in 2007, it has been remade as a TV series on Spike TV. The first episode aired on 6/22/2017 and there will be 10 episodes. I am recording it and plan on binge watching it later.

Goodreads Synopsis

In the wake of a destructive Maine summer thunderstorm, an impenetrable mist descends from the direction of a local military facility and infiltrates the small town of Bridgton. David Drayton and his son Billy are dragged into a living nightmare as unnatural and violent forces concealed by the mist begin to emerge, wreaking havoc in their wake. Now trapped in the local supermarket with a ragtag group of survivors, David unexpectedly faces a growing threat from within, one that promises to challenge the boundaries of sanity itself. In this horrifying mist, hearing is seeing—and believing. And what you’re about to hear, you’ll never forget.

Coming Soon…

August


The Dark Tower series by Stephen King

Theater Release Date – August 4th

IMBD Synopsis

The Gunslinger, Roland Deschain, roams an Old West-like landscape where “the world has moved on” in pursuit of the man in black. Also searching for the fabled Dark Tower, in the hopes that reaching it will preserve his dying world.

 


The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Theater Release Date – August 11th
This is a truly remarkable story! I highly recommend that everyone read this memoir whether you see the movie or not. It is an amazing story of triumph, against all odds.

Goodreads Synopsis

The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family.

The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.


Tulip Fever by Deborah Moggach

Theater Release Date – August 25th

Goodreads Synopsis

In 1630s Amsterdam, tulipomania has seized the populace. Everywhere men are seduced by the fantastic exotic flower. But for wealthy merchant Cornelis Sandvoort, it is his young and beautiful wife, Sophia, who stirs his soul. She is the prize he desires, the woman he hopes will bring him the joy that not even his considerable fortune can buy.

Cornelis yearns for an heir, but so far he and Sophia have failed to produce one. In a bid for immortality, he commissions a portrait of them both by the talented young painter Jan van Loos. But as Van Loos begins to capture Sophia’s likeness on canvas, a slow passion begins to burn between the beautiful young wife and the talented artist.

As the portrait unfolds, so a slow dance is begun among the household’s inhabitants. Ambitions, desires, and dreams breed a grand deception–and as the lies multiply, events move toward a thrilling and tragic climax.

September –

It by Stephen King

Goodreads Synopsis

Welcome to Derry, Maine. It’s a small city, a place as hauntingly familiar as your own hometown. Only in Derry the haunting is real.

They were seven teenagers when they first stumbled upon the horror. Now they are grown-up men and women who have gone out into the big world to gain success and happiness. But the promise they made twenty-eight years ago calls them reunite in the same place where, as teenagers, they battled an evil creature that preyed on the city’s children. Now, children are being murdered again and their repressed memories of that terrifying summer return as they prepare to once again battle the monster lurking in Derry’s sewers.

American Assassin by Vince Flynn

Goodreads Synopsis

Two decades after the Cold War, Islamic terrorism is on the rise, and CIA Operations Director Thomas Stansfield forms a new group of clandestine operatives—men who do not exist—to meet this burgeoning threat abroad, before it reaches America’s shores. Stansfield’s protégé, Irene Kennedy, finds the ideal candidate in the wake of the Pan Am Lockerbie terrorist attack. Among the thousands grieving the victims is Mitch Rapp, a gifted college athlete, who wants only one thing: retribution. Six months of intense training prepare him to devastate the enemy with brutal efficiency, leaving a trail of bodies from Istanbul and across Europe, to Beirut. But there, the American assassin will need every ounce of skill and cunning to survive the war-ravaged city and its deadly terrorist factions.

Will you be seeing any of these movies or TV adaptations?
If you hear of any adaptations coming out in the next few of months that I have not listed, please let me know, I would love to add them to the list.

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

21 thoughts on “Book-to-Screen (June 2017)

  1. The Glass Castle is one of my most favorite books, and I cannot wait to see the movie! I hope they do it justice! I love Daphne du Maurier, so I’m anxious to see My Cousin Rachel. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It will have to be hard to watch! Or, they completely ruined it! It’s been a favorite book of mine for years, so I really hope not! I do think Naomi Watts is an excellent actress, and Woody Harrelson should play the dad really well!

        Liked by 1 person

              1. Needless to say I haven’t made a deal in a while! Not since he made me see Star Wars and promised to see Lala Land. I still haven’t seen Lala Land…😔

                Like

              2. We do watch some…she’s watched some classic Hollywood musicals with me and loved them! And Mama Mia, lol! She loves to sing and takes ballet and tap since she was 3, so she loves to dance! I’m tempted to watch Lala Land with her, but I’m not sure if it would be ok. I’ll have to look in to that. But she did see Grease, lol. I’ve never been a Star Wars fan but maybe it’s because I need to watch the first ones to know what is going on. I never saw them growing up..yep, I had a weird childhood!

                Like

  2. When I saw the trailer for The Glass Castle I WAS IN LOVE. It looked like Captain Fantastic which was my favorite movie last year. Do you think I’d like the book? I don’t really enjoy nonfiction that much…does it read like a novel?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If reads like a fictional book! I don’t read much nonfiction either. It’s an amazing story. Fair warning for some it can be a difficult read at times, these kids grew up in unimaginable circumstances. But in my opinion, it is well worth the read. This may come as a shock, but I am seriously considering rereading this book! Tina does not reread books 🙂 It has been a really long time and a bit fuzzy, so it might be my first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

