Monthly Wrap-Up

June Monthly Wrap-Up

It’s official – the year is half-over! We can either look at this as the glass is half-empty or half-full. I’m going with the glass is half-full and am looking forward to all the new adventures, mysteries, romances, and so on that are still to come in the next six months!

This is the perfect time to do a quick check on how my year in books is going so far.

Reading Goals:

Books Read: 40
Goodreads Goal: 60
Pages Read: 13,589

Most liked post since starting my blog in February:
Calling All Orenda Fans – I Need Your Help

In case you missed it this month:
Books-to-Screen June
Discussion Post: Tracking Upcoming Releases From Your Favorite Authors
Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

What I Read

My favorite book this month…


This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel – This is an honest, thought provoking story. I not only can highly recommend the book, but I also found the audio version very enjoyable. (my full review)
My Rating: 5/5

I also really enjoyed…


Final Girls by Riley Sager – I found this psychological thriller to be a fun read. It slowly built in intensity until the past comes crashing into the present. (my full review)
My Rating: 5/5


Here and Gone by Haylen Beck – This suspense is a parents worst nightmare! It grabbed my attention right away and I enjoyed seeing the transformation of the main character, Audra, as the story developed. (my full review)
My Rating: 4/5


Seeing Red by Sandra Brown – I love Sandra Brown’s books, she is one of my favorite authors. This suspense thriller will take you on quite a ride and keep you wondering what is going to happen next. (my full review)
My Rating: 4/5


Before the Rain Falls by Camille Di Maio – This historical fiction is a slow to evolve story that beautifully weaves two time periods together to tell us the story of Della Lee. (my full review)

Other books I read…


Camino Island by John Grisham – This crime thriller is a departure for John Grisham from his usual legal thrillers. I really enjoyed all the booky references in this book. My rating reflects how I felt about the book before the ending that I didn’t really care for. (my full review)
My Rating: 4/5


The Good Widow by Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke – This mystery was a terrific poolside read for me that had me wanting to get on the first plane to Maui! (my full review)
My Rating: 3.5/5

I read but didn’t write a review for…


My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier – My Goodreads rating 3/5.


The Last Child by John Hart – My Goodreads rating 4/5.

My New Arrivals

NetGalley…

Yup that’s five NetGalley approvals! Ugh…my trigger finger got a little happy this month.

Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton – Thanks to some terrific reviews, I’ve been really looking forward to reading this book and was beyond excited when the approval email came through.

The Weight of Lies by Emily Carpenter – I saw some rave reviews for this one and it was a ‘read now’ so I jumped on the opportunity to read it.

The Good Widow by Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke – I requested, read, and reviewed it this month! If only I could always be that on top of these NetGalley books.

The Stolen Marriage by Diane Chamberlain – I saw this book on a couple of blog posts this past week and quickly jumped onto NetGalley to request one. When I got the email approval I did a little happy dance!

The Breakdown by B.A. Paris – Another late month approval that I was beyond excited to be approved for! This beauty is coming with me on vacation at the end of July.

Book of the Month Club (BOTM)…

The Sisters Chase by Sarah Healy – I knew right away that this story of sisters was going to be my BOTM pick for June and look forward to reading it soon!

Purchases I made…

Ever since I posted my Top Ten Tuesday – Series That I Would Like To Start I have been itching to start a series. After much internal debate I decided to buy the Detective Erika Foster Series! I thought it would be fun to make this series my poolside reading for the rest of the summer.

What was your favorite book this month?

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

16 thoughts on “June Monthly Wrap-Up

  1. Looks like you had an excellent month! So many great reads… I hope you will love the Erika Foster series as much as I did and I can highly recommend The Weight Of Lies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. After reading this post I went on NetGalley and requested “The stolen marriage” by Diane Chamberlain. I’m not sure if I’m wishing to be approved (would love to read the book), or not be approved (I’m trying to get my 80% badge). It is all your fault! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Ugh…I feel your pain, I’m also trying to get my 80% badge, at least once :). I get really close and then another “must read” book comes along that I “must” request. I’m thinking I may just read NetGalley books in August, that ought to do it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

