Bookish Odds and Ends

Discussion Post – Let’s Talk About Book Series

Book Series

About a month ago I posted my  Top Ten Tuesday – Series That I Would Like To Start. This post brought to my attention that I have read very few books that were part of a series during the first half of this year. This came as a big surprise to me because I love a good series! There is something comforting about picking up a book and being familiar with many of the characters. I love to see the character development and what kind of journey the author decides to take my favorite characters on next.

I decided I wasn’t going to let the second half of the year slip away and not dive into at least one (or hopefully two) new series. The series I decided to start with is the Detective Erika Foster series by Robert Bryndza. I couldn’t have picked a more perfect series to start with. I read and loved book one (The Girl in the Ice) and started reading book two (The Night Stalker) and am enjoying that one as well.

Along with committing to read one or two series this year I also decided to make a Book Series page. I scoured Goodreads and put together a list of all the series I have read or am in the process of reading. At this point most of these books have no book review for them because they were read pre-blog, but I did include the star rating I gave them on Goodreads as a guide to how much I enjoyed them. Going forward I will be able to attach my book reviews.

Q & A…

  • Do you like reading book series?
    Me: Needless to say, I clearly do.
  • Do you have to start with book one or can you jump into a series at any point?
    Me: I have to start at the beginning, if I jump in the middle of one I am wondering the whole time…what did I miss?
  • Are you intimidated to start a series that has a lot of books?
    Me: No, I’m not. I actually like it because I don’t have to wait a year for the next one.
  • Do you have a favorite book series genre?
    Me: After putting together my book series page I quickly realized that mystery is my favorite series genre.
  • Do you prefer trilogies or a more lengthy series?
    Me: I like both, but have a tendency to read more lengthy series.
  • Do you binge book series?
    Me: I have, but they do tend to all bleed together after awhile, so I prefer to break them up a bit.

How would you answer these questions? What are your likes and dislikes about book series?

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

23 thoughts on “Discussion Post – Let’s Talk About Book Series

  1. I love book series but I am obsessive about starting them at book one, I have a severe case of fear of missing out! 😂 This even applies to series where the books are standalones because there are often crossover characters I prefer to read them in order so I don’t have spoilers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Apologies upfront for any typos. I’m doing this on my iPad because I’m too lazy to get up to get my laptop. 😂

    1. Yes, I do!
    2. Dee-logic dictates I start at the beginning.
    3. Not at all. It just takes longer to get caught up. I started the Ruth Galloway series when book 10 came out so 😄.
    4. I’m going to hazard a guess and say it’s most likely crime and police procedurals.
    5. Probably lengthy ones. I enjoy the character development. I also quite like it when an author has the guts to kill off one of the main characters and I don’t feel that has the same impact in a trilogy.
    6. No. I did get caught up on Angela Marsons’ books quite quickly but I didn’t read them all in one go. But that was also because I had other commitments that were more important at the time. Still, I prefer switching things up so I’ll probably read at least two other books before going back to that particular series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dee-logic is spot on!
      Oh yes, killing off a main character in a series is fun and very gutsy.
      I have a series, that I want to read, that will be sixteen in length next month. I might tackle that one next year 🙂
      The D. I. Kim Stone books are on my list!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love a good series and I’ve found that with each one I start I’m adding more and more to the TBR all the time. I have to admit I will jump in part way through but I don’t think I’ve ever binge read a series, I quite like a bit of separation between my books. I think all of my series reads are crime fiction but then are so are the majority of the rest of my reads.
    Thanks for an interesting post with questions to answer – love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great idea to start a book series page to keep track and remind you what’s next. I really enjoy a good series. My favourite genre is crime thriller or psychological. Top books at the moment the social media murders by Angela Clarke. I also enjoy chick lit and favourite there is Sophie Kinsella shopaholic series. With series there is always a knowing reason to look forward to the next book. Happy series reading!
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I also want to read Will Trent, plus Grant County. I read and loved Tessa Leoni, Lisa Gardner is one of my favorite authors. I’m not familiar with Lacey Flint, but am going to add it.

          Like

  5. I dislike series and generally won’t even consider a book that’s part of one. I just don’t like the commitment and I get bored with the same characters. There have been a very few exceptions in my reading career. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series and The Hunger Games, but I think that’s it. (Other than childhood/teen years.)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love series better than standalone books I think! And I have started a series in the middle without realizing it but it freaked me out, lol so I try to always start at book 1! I will binge a series like crazy if I can get all the books! That is what I did with both the Will Trent and Grant County series and I almost cried when there were no more books to read, lol. I’m going to have to go look at your series page and see what we’ve read in common and haven’t! See what I can add to the TBR 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

