Mystery/Thriller

Book Review – The Night Stalker by Robert Bryndza

Here is my review of book one in this series:

Book One: The Girl in the Ice

Goodreads Synopsis:

In the dead of a swelteringly hot summer’s night, Detective Erika Foster is called to a murder scene. The victim, a doctor, is found suffocated in bed. His wrists are bound and his eyes bulging through a clear plastic bag tied tight over his head.

A few days later, another victim is found dead, in exactly the same circumstances. As Erika and her team start digging deeper, they discover a calculated serial killer – stalking their victims before choosing the right moment to strike.

The victims are all single men, with very private lives. Why are their pasts shrouded in secrecy? And what links them to the killer?

As a heat wave descends upon London, Erika will do everything to stop the Night Stalker before the body count rises, even if it means risking her job. But the victims might not be the only ones being watched… Erika’s own life could be on the line.

My Opinion:

I thought that Robert Bryndza hit a homerun with book one in this series, The Girl in the Ice. I am very happy to tell you that he has one-upped that and hit it out of the ballpark with this book, The Night Stalker.

It started with a single murder, and before DCI Erika Foster and her team knew it, a second murder had been committed. It is a race against time to find the night stalker before another murder is committed.

There is so much to love about this book! I really enjoyed the way Robert Bryndza played with the weather in correlation with the progress of the case. It’s hot and sticky, making an already frustratingly slow-moving case more unbearable. Tempers are running high and there are few leads to go on. When the heat wave subsides and the rain starts, the case starts to flow and you know what they say, “sometimes when it rains it pours.”

I formed a vision in my head at the beginning of the book of who the killer was and how I thought the story was going to unfold. I love the fact that I couldn’t have been more wrong. Everything from who the killer is, why they were killing, and who the killer’s online friend is was nothing like what I had envisioned. That is not easy to do and the author did it beautifully!

I went into this book completely blind. I stayed away from reading all reviews and even the synopsis. I love going into a story having no idea what is going to happen and who it is going to happen to. I’m really excited to dive into book three (Dark Water) and four (Last Breath) soon!

Have you read this series? Do you have a favorite book in the series?

My Rating: 5/5

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Series: Detective Erika Foster, #2

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 6/2/2016

Pages: 382 (eBook)

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, and/or Facebook.

Happy Reading!

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review – The Night Stalker by Robert Bryndza

Leave a Reply

